top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmanda

Chasing Dreams



Hola, amigos!


Remember a couple years ago when I studied abroad in Greece and absolutely fell in love with Europe? Well, now I’m moving there!


Yesterday, I left Iowa to make the trek of a life time and move overseas. For the next nine to ten months, I will be living in Algeciras, Spain! Though it is not permanent, I still consider it a move. While there, I will be working as a Language and Cultural Assistant in either a middle school or high school; I haven’t quite figured that part out yet.

Why Spain? Well, in May, I graduated from Iowa State University with a double degree in Global Resource Systems and Agricultural Communications. I decided I wanted to take a little bit of a “gap” year while still gaining incredible experience before entering the real world. I am still unsure of what I really want to do with my degree, whether it be grad school or the workforce, so this opportunity sounded perfect. And honestly, why not?

While scrolling through TikTok last fall, I discovered a video explaining how to teach and live abroad. Intrigued, I researched the program, applied, became accepted, and now here we are! Once I arrive in Spain, I will have to open my own phone and bank account, find an apartment, and of course, start assisting with teaching English at my assigned school. I have a feeling the first week or two will be a bit of a whirlwind, but I am excited for the opportunity to chase my dream of living abroad and gain adaptive, professional, and language skills along the way. I know a little Spanish, as I have taken four semesters worth of courses while at ISU, so I am hoping to become fully bilingual by the end of my term. Wish me luck!


Preparing to go abroad for such a long time has been a challenge, to say the least. Packing for nine to ten months has quite possibly been the most stressful activity of my life. I mean, I LOVE clothes and wanted to take as much with me as possible. Just this morning, I had to part ways with some treasured items to accommodate to the luggage weight limit. Goodbye, favorite sweater. I made my mom promise to either ship them or bring them with her if my parents decide to come visit. However, I guess I am not that upset about it, since Algeciras is fairly warm year-round. Did I tell you I’m going to be right across the bay from Morocco?

The last few weeks have been filled with packing, of course, but also taking time to hang out with those who mean the most to me. My last week in Ames was filled with meeting up with friends every single night. I loved it, but the goodbyes were hard. Last week, I hung out with family and loved up extra hard on my doggo. Phew, the tears were flowing. I am so lucky to have so many wonderful people in my life, and will cherish our last few days together until I come back. Thankfully, I printed pictures a few days ago, so I will have plenty of memories to hang up in my new apartment.

Boarding my flight was incredibly stressful, with a surprise COVID test (I guess I did not read the guidelines correctly?) and a lot of running through the airport. I have safely arrived in Algeciras and I am still a mix of emotions. Mostly excited, but also a little nervous, sad, and scared. How many people up and move overseas right after graduation? However, I have already made some new friends after bumping into each other at the airport, though they are in different cities. That just means I have some weekend traveling to do!


Come along with me as I become adjusted and enter a thrilling new chapter of my life. I’m like Donna Sheridan! (minus the baby, though). I am planning on starting a vlog series, as well, and will definitely post on all social media platforms fairly often. Hugs to all!


Hasta luego,

Amanda

65 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page