top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmanda

Greece Lightning

Forecast for this week: a shift in the weather and learning some new moves.


The last couple of days in the islands were spent traveling, eating, and relaxing. Our group of ten left Chania on Tuesday morning after a little mishap. While loading our bags into the rental cars, Andrea accidentally locked the keys in the car, laying on the front seat. Thankfully, the trunk was left open, and we were able to get creative. We tried multiple techniques, including stretching out a couple of hangers and kicking the backseat in a little bit to get it to collapse. Being one of the smallest, I took a few turns crawling into the trunk to try the different methods, but Myla came in clutch most of all with her ultra petite form. She was able to wiggle half her body in the hole the boys created and collapse the seat, then crawl to the front and grabs the keys, ultimately unlocking and opening the doors. Cheers rang out, and we went on our way!


After grabbing breakfast in Chania, the ten of us drove the two hours back to Heraklion. My car had some fun belting out jams, discussing conspiracy theories, and listening to podcasts. We went straight to Knossos Palace, though four of us didn't go in for the tour. The six that did said it was pretty cool, but I was a little "ruined" out. Instead, I scoped out the vendors across the street and purchased an evil eye bracelet, a superstitious symbol of Greece. This symbol is called a mati and is said to ward off the evil eye and negative jealously. Plus, the bracelet is also really cute, so it's a score. We headed for our new Airbnb after the palace and vendors, dropping our stuff off before finding a place to eat. Then it was time to bid farewell to four of our friends. 


Costas, Garrett, Myla, and Mandy had a flight to catch at 10:00 pm on Tuesday, so we took them to the airport and dropped the cars off for return. Taking the bus back, Andrea, Des, and I stopped for a quick McDonald's run, as it was close to the new apartment. I indulged in some spicy Sprite. If you know, you know. Returning to the Airbnb, the remaining six of us hit the hay. I had a scare in the middle of the night, though, waking up to absolute PITCH black and forgetting where I was. Don't worry, I calmed down and found my phone for light and reality. :)


Wednesday in Heraklion was spent at the beach. I felt a little guilty enjoying the warmth as snow fell back home. We had a lot of fun in the sea and said goodbye to swimming for the final time. After the beach, we scouted out a nice restaurant for dinner and found ourselves underdressed in our beach clothes. Oh well. The food was good, but we were given free servings of a Greek traditional drink called raki. If you ever get offered some, I advise you NOT to drink it. 


Arriving back at the Airbnb, we took our showers and settled in for the night. We watched The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants, geeking out over the scenes where Lena is in Santorini. "We've been there!" "I sat on that EXACT bench!" "Omg, we took a ferry out of that port, too!" Yeah, we're basically famous by association. 


The next morning, we checked out of the Airbnb and caught a city bus to the airport for our 8:00 am flight. I had found peanut butter a few days prior that was €4 cheaper than what I see in Thessaloniki, so I bought it to bring back to school with me. The airport security confiscated it, though, and I was honestly very upset. If anyone wants to Venmo me $6.50 for peanut butter, I would love you a lot. :)


Arriving back in Thessaloniki, I think we all took one big collective sigh of relief. The islands were nice, but it felt good to be back on a solid foundation and schedule. I spent Thursday studying for a Nutrition test, doing laundry, and planning my Halloween costume for the night. My final decision: Donna Sheridan. I mean, how can I not be the dancing queen while in Greece? I dressed as the younger version from the second Mamma Mia, and I nailed it. See below for comparison. 


The past couple of days have brought on sweater weather, a definite shift in the temperatures from Crete. The temperature dropped from the 70s to low 60s, maybe 58 degrees. There was a poll in the on-campus student housing group chat, debating whether to turn the heat on or not. The Greek students begged for the answer to be yes, but our study abroad group voted no in a heartbeat. I mean, this is the perfect weather! 


Yesterday, about half of the group headed downtown via the bus to explore Kapani Market near Aristotle Square. The market was neat and basically a farmer's market, but much more extensive. We picked up some fresh produce, snacks, and chocolates and cookies to take with us to a party later in the day. We were going to grab lunch at a Chinese restaurant, but ran out of time. I think we all need a little break from Mediterranean food. 


Saturday afternoon, eight of us loaded into a school minibus and headed an hour north for a party at a winery. In Greek culture, it's customary to bring some type of treat or gift with you when you are invited to an event, hence our purchase of chocolates and cookies from the market. Our group was invited through Maria, our Greek Cultural Experience teacher. She's awesome and so kind to let us join in on the fun! There was plenty of food, good company, and lots of dancing. I now know at least two traditional Greek dances! 


Today was spent relaxing and reading. Throw in a short nap and a grumbling stomach, and you've got the typical Greek Sunday for me. Next weekend, we all venture to Meteora, where the monasteries are, so stay tuned to see if I make friends with the holy! 

25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page