top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmanda

It's All About the Climb

Updated: Sep 1, 2019

Reaching new heights and making new memories. Yeah, it's a pretty nice life.

A lot has been done over the last couple weeks, including hikes, beach days, service, construction, and boating adventures. The picture above was taken at the end of Ramshead, a small section of the island jutting out into the ocean, in the shape of a ram's head. The group and I took the hike the night of the full moon, and took turns guessing at exactly what time the moon would rise. The sun sets early here, around 6:50 pm, so the moon rose exactly an hour after the sun went down. The area was a wee bit dangerous, but I felt a little risky and crawled to the edge. On our hike, we encountered a "whole den" of large land crabs, words directly quoted from my mouth at the time. Turns out they would be called a cast. Learn something new everyday! The whole time, I was getting major Pirates of the Caribbean vibes. I mean, check out this rock formation! Using your imagination, it was a giant V eroding in the rock.

We took a couple group pictures while at the top - moments after sweating and huffing and puffing from the climb. Doc added some sort of editing effect, but it works!

There have also been a couple beach days thrown into the mix, complete with snorkel goggles. This was taken at Cinnamon Bay, a huge white sand beach with clear blue water. We found lots of little fish, and were able to front float for minutes on end. Judging from our crazy laughter, we were having a good day. :)

The main point of the whole trip is to perform service, so of course, we have been keeping up with the community. The girls and I created a huge compost pit for microorganisms to grow. The pit can reach upwards of 150 degrees, all through the movement and action of the microorganisms, and the sun has nothing to do with the rise in temperature. Eventually, we'll turn the pit over for more growth, then use the product in the gardens for great nutrient growth.

I think I've mentioned this before, but the girls and I are split into groups of two each week, working in different areas of the community. This past week, I began at Feed the Hungry, then moved to the Senior Center toward the end of the week. At the center, I learned how to weave a placemat made of paper towel rolls, as well as led the seniors in an exercise class. The room lacked air conditioning, and I think I was sweating more than them! They got a hoot out of the time, and are looking forward to my return. The seniors told me they were taking a field trip to Annaberg to explore the bay there, and would be accompanied by an old park ranger. Our group decided to join them, and the trip was well worth it! I held a starfish, Doc pretended to eat one, and Olivia and I saw two little tiny sharks - causing some small screams and hand-holding. :) Later in the day, the group and I went on a hike on L'Esperance Trail, and were able to climb to high peaks and look down at the life below. At one point we could even see our cottage! The hike took roughly 2-3 hours, but some physical activity was worth it.

On our way back from the hike, Doc stopped at a beach overlook and told us about the waves, then threw in the line, "If you want, we can go down there and I can teach you guys how to surf." Is that even a question? OF COURSE I WANT TO! Surfing has only been one of the biggest bullet points on my bucket list for years (I know I'm still young but so what?). I actually caught on pretty quick, and was able to rise to my knees in no time, but haven't attempted to stand yet. I'm determined though, and I look forward to our surf days to come!


Later in the evening, a few of us traveled to town while Doc had Confirmation practice. We went into different shops, stumbling across one with a cool as heck owner. The conversation starter came from Olivia, who noticed a Cubs flag (boo, am I right?) flying outside. Turns out, the lady was a fan, and came from Iowa.


Y'all. She knew exactly where Calamus is. Nobody ever knows that! Also turns out she went to Iowa State, too. What a small world!

The town's most prominent "bush man", or Shambai, lives nearby and likes to visit the cottage every now and then. Each of us have gotten to know him in a different way. Shambai is called the bush man because he quite literally lives in the bush - no house, no shelter, just maybe a couple tarps, and plenty of plants. Water and precipitation is low on the island, so Shambai needed some help getting water. Doc told him he'd lend a hand, and Olivia and I joined. We loaded the truck with seventeen 5-gallon buckets, and went on our way. Turns out, Shambai takes water from an abandoned house's cistern, literally pulling the water out like the cistern is one of those old-time wells. We definitely got a workout in from helping him. Shambai is a real character, and one of the most genuine people I've ever met. To not help him would near be a sin, so we were happy to get to work.

A few days ago, I would have said I've never been boating on the ocean. Now, I can say I have! Brenda, Doc's girlfriend, has a friend who owns a small boat and invited us to join them for the day on the boat. We went out on the boat just a few hours after Doc was confirmed into the Catholic Church, which was exciting in itself. The day was relaxing, and much needed. It was so kind of them to invite us and show us around the surrounding Caribbean area. They even knew where Kenny Chesney lives, so if y'all ever want to find him, I know where he (potentially) could be!

While we have been having a lot of fun, we have also been putting in hard work toward our project. Our mission is to build a garden table for the Senior Center, and have been so hard at work, we're just about done! Doc has helped us build it, as most of the others have never really touched a tool a day in their life. We built up the frame, measuring and cutting along, then laid down wire on the bottom, positioned plastic, then black fabric inside, drilled water holes on the sides, and pieced together the sub-surface irrigation piping. We still have to create some sort of cover so animals don't get to the plants, as well as sand and paint the wood.

Now off to more adventures. Until next time!

Amanda :)





29 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page