top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmanda

Bucket List Destination

Updated: Sep 4, 2019

Turning dreams into reality? I'm all for it.


Hello family, friends, and future study abroad students! I’m glad you’re checking in to find out more about my Cyclone adventure. Soon, I will be studying abroad for twelve weeks at Perrotis College - the American Farm School - in Thessaloniki, Greece. I can’t begin to express how excited I am for this opportunity, as well as for you all to follow along with my experience!


I am entering my junior year at Iowa State University with a double major in Global Resource Systems and Agricultural Communications, with hopes to add a minor in Nutrition. For as long as I can remember, I have wanted to see the world. When I began at Iowa State, I knew I wanted to change my dream into reality. My taste for travel began to carry out the summer after my freshman year when I spent six weeks on St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands through the EARTH Service Learning Program. I loved every minute of it and would go back in a heartbeat! I felt I should pursue something of a longer duration, and began seriously considering studying abroad for a whole semester. I fought a silent battle with myself going back and forth between wanting to go somewhere and wanting to stay in Iowa. However, I knew if I didn’t study abroad, I would regret it for many reasons.


My major of GRS highly encourages students to study abroad to gain cultural and global awareness. We are required to complete an international internship, but I wanted to do more. There are so many places to visit, so many historical monuments to see, so many people to meet. I love immersing myself in a new culture and learning as much as I can at every opportunity. Europe was calling my name.


So why Greece? Of course, it has been a bucket list destination for ages, as I am sure it is for many of you. Then, there’s the fact that one of my favorite movies, Mamma Mia, was filmed in Greece. When the second movie of the franchise came out last July, I was sold! I can picture myself as Donna Sheridan, Dancing Queen. Of course, I also researched the American Farm School and found the study abroad program and the courses to be exemplary. The institution comes highly recommended from many esteemed faculty in the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences, so I knew I wouldn’t be disappointed.


So, follow along as I embark on my Greek Goddess adventure and visit various countries along the way! Some of the pre-planned program activities include hiking Mt. Olympus, visiting Meteora, and spending a weekend in Athens. Enjoy Europe by living vicariously through my blog and social media sites, and hopefully, this will prompt some of you toward fulfilling your own bucket list. Greece, I will see you soon!


- Amanda :)

75 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page