top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmanda

Pack Attack

How do you pack for three months abroad? Well, I’m still not entirely sure I did it right, but here’s to hoping so.



Only one more day until I board the plane and cross the pond for Greece! It’s almost hard to believe the moment is finally here. This past week, I have spent most of my time preparing for my adventure. Whether it be through last-minute shopping trips, picking up prescriptions, or inevitably, packing my suitcase.


I’m a list person and always have been, especially when it comes to taking trips. The CALS Study Abroad Office distributed a recommended packing list and supporting materials to myself and the other study abroad students a few months ago. I took that list and ran with it, compiling my packing list down to the smallest details. My list was pretty much complete in April! Then came the tricky part: fitting everything into one suitcase.


Packing for three months in a different country is tough. I can look up the climate and temperature all I want, but Mother Nature is temperamental and can be tricky to work around. So I packed for changing seasons! When I arrive in Greece, temperatures will still be in the 80’s. Throughout the next few months, clearly, the temperature will drop, though it’s only expected to get down to about 45-50 degrees. However, what’s a trip to Europe without a trip or two to more than one country?


Tomorrow, September 23rd, I will fly out of Chicago and travel to Dublin, Ireland. I’ll be staying in the chilly city for a few days before heading for Greece. I wanted to go to Ireland first because of the rich heritage, family lineage, and see where a large portion of my ancestors came from. My grandpa on my mom’s side is pretty much pure Irish, as this patchy family tree - made by his brother - displays. I mean, take one look at me and you can tell I have Irish in my blood. Pretty cool, right?



With my suitcase full of a variety of clothes, shoes, basic grooming supplies, and any other necessary odds and ends, I think I’m ready for take-off! I also have many things printed off like my boarding pass, copy of my passport, and my class schedule. Which by the way, I am so looking forward to my classes.


While at the American Farm School, I will be taking 12 credits. My classes include Greek Cultural Experience, Intro to Biochemistry, Nutrition, and Sustainable Rural Development. The timeframes are a little wacky and will take some getting used to, but I couldn’t be more excited! Catch me becoming so cultured and educated.


Stay tuned to hear how my adventure continues!

- Amanda :)

56 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page