top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmanda

Vamos a la Playa

NALCAP understood the assignment when they placed me in a coastal town.


My first full week in Spain has come to a close, and wow, what a change of pace. It took me a while to get used to the time difference, which I was not expecting. My last time abroad, I was able to adjust very quickly. I definitely utilized siesta time more than once this week!


Most days, I spent wandering around my new city. I was able to get a new SIM card for my phone, so I now have a Spanish phone number and plan. That has saved me from a lot of trouble with Google Maps! I am also excited to have returned to cheap groceries. I bought lactose free milk for under 1€, whereas in the states, that would normally cost me nearly $4! Hallelujah.


Friday was my first day of school, and I finally met another English speaker! When I arrived, I needed help getting into the school, so I called the principle and he sent someone out to get me. I then sat in on an hour-long meeting, entirely in Spanish. I think I understood one person. Once the meeting was over, I was able to meet my new English speaking friend, Jude, and a couple of the teachers. Jude is from Canada, so we’re a bit of a diverse crowd. The two of us were shown around the school and enjoyed a second breakfast and coffee with three of the teachers. We exchanged contact information and were sent home within a few hours.

By this point in the week, I was craving human interaction, so I took a bus to Tarifa to hang out with Jude and his friend, Arthur, at their Airbnb. We went to a spot on the beach to grab a couple drinks, then watched movies at their Airbnb. It was so fun, and I am SO excited to have friends! We even talked about renting apartments right next door to each other, so it kind of gives me Friends or New Girl vibes. I love it.


You may be wondering the reference to la playa (the beach). I think I have spent a collective 10 hours at the beach this week, and I couldn’t be happier. I am a bit sunburnt, but I keep having moments where I just stop and think, “I live here now!” Ah how cool! I think a Spanish man did hear me scream a little when a fish touched my feet unexpectedly, though.


On Saturday, I went out on a limb and hung out with a guy I met from the area. We went to one of the cafés in Algeciras and then drove to the beach in Tarifa. He has volunteered to be my Spanish teacher/guide, and honestly, I need all the help I can get. I definitely wish I had worked harder to learn more Spanish before moving across the world. We also went to a restaurant in Tarifa, and I ordered gambones (shrimp) and was a bit surprised when the waitress brought the plate out. The shrimp still had eyes! See below. I had to peel it myself and it was a process, but everything still tasted good. Not sure if I would get the dish again, but we will see.

Today, I have mostly been just hanging out in my hostel room. The owner is really nice and let me do my laundry for free! I have to line dry everything here, so I haven’t left all day since I want to keep an eye on my stuff. I need to run to the grocery store, though, since all I have left is cereal. I have the TV on and so far, have watched The Simpsons and The Karate Kid in Spanish. Stay tuned on my language skills!


Hasta luego!

44 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page